To Ms. Lauryn

“To those supporters who were told that I abandoned them, that is untrue. I abandoned greed, corruption, and compromise, 
never you, and never the artistic gifts and abilities that sustained me.”

-Lauryn Hill 

lauryn3

Since the release of ‘Neurotic Society’ by Lauryn Hill this month, I’ve been hearing and reading conflicting reviews.

To be quite honest, I haven’t listened to this song as yet. I’m afraid that I may not like it. The good reviews have been very
good. The bad reviews have been VERY bad. There’s no ‘in between’. At worst, I could be disappointed by this new release- this is my fear.

I promise myself to do so however, after writing this post.

Hours ago, my Twitter timeline began buzzing with the news that the Grammy-winning Ms. Lauryn Hill’s failure to pay
federal income taxes for three years had earned her a prison sentence.

newnew

There were again, mixed reviews and comments. Hows, WHATs, Damns and then some HA!HAs . Some Good-for-hers.. Some Let’s-feel-sorry-for-hers..

Well this tweet about summed it up.

lauryn

Ms. Lauryn… I can never forget your performance in the film Sister Act 2.. I still get goosebumps.

I love you for giving us The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill.

I listen to you sing about Zion and think about all the parents who sacrificed for their children somehow.

When I hear your name, I think of your beautiful music and NOTHING else.

Can’t we just say that Lauryn gave us good music?

Leave a Reply

